Casting Time
Most spells require the Magic action to cast, but some spells require a Bonus Action, a Reaction, or 1 minute or more. A spell's Casting Time entry specifies which of those is required.
One Spell with a Spell Slot per Turn
On a turn, you can expend only one spell slot to cast a spell. This rule means you can't, for example, cast a spell with a spell slot using the Magic action and another one using a Bonus Action on the same turn.
Reaction and Bonus Action Triggers
A spell that has a casting time of a Reaction is cast in response to a trigger that is defined in the spell's Casting Time entry. Some spells that have a casting time of a Bonus Action are also cast in response to a trigger defined in the spell.
Longer Casting Times
Certain spells-including a spell cast as a Rit-ual-require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. While you cast a spell with a casting time of 1 minute or more, you must take the Magic action on each of your turns, and you must maintain Concentration (see "Rules Glossary") while you do so. If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. To cast the spell again, you must start over.